SUBSCRIBE
Search

Why I’m cancelling my Brickpak subscription

May 2015 Brickpak

 

A couple of days ago, I received my May Brickpak and after opening it, was kind of glad that I had recently cancelled my Brickpak subscription. I was away in Japan in April, so I didn’t have a chance to review it, but I was pretty let down by the contents when I opened it.

I reviewed the very first Brickpak in March but left feeling a little underwhelmed. Despite that, I kind of liked the whole idea of mystery LEGO crates, so I decided to give them a go and see if subsequent Brickpaks would be more interesting.

April 2015 Brickpak - LEGO

These were the only items that I liked in April’s Brickpak. It was Animal-themed, and the farmer and various little critters didn’t excite me all too much. The Clownfish polybag was nice, but it just didn’t feel enough to justify the total pricetag.

Let’s see what’s in May’s Brickpak.

May 2015 Brickpak - Drawstring Bag

May’s Brickpak theme is Nerds and Geeks, and the first thing that popped out was a linen drawstring bag with 8-bit LEGO minifigs printed on it. Featuring popular characters like Hot Dog Man and a dude with a Classic Space torso, the bag is okay. I’m in my mid-twenties and it’s not something that I will ever use or wear outside the house.

May 2015 Brickpak - Stationery & Cup

Next was a yellow cup with a LEGO minifig’s face printing and LEGO Friends colour pencils. Again, not my cup of tea.

May 2015 Brickpak - Comics and Stickers

More geeky-themed items like 2 LEGO Super Heroes comic books that you get from DC (2013) and Marvel (2014) Super Heroes sets. If you’ve ever bought a medium to large-sized Super Heroes sets in recent years, you’ll probably already have them, if not multiples.

May 2015 Brickpak - Stickers

The stickers were decent – they’re meant to be stuck on tiles to create comic book accessories, which is pretty cool.

May 2015 Brickpak - LEGO

And here’s the deal-breaker, the actual LEGO contents. As usual, there’s a minifigure, a parts pack and a polybag – which is the Star Wars Imperial Shuttle. The polybag is pretty decent, but isn’t all that rare of expensive. Bricklink’s 6-month average sale price is about $5.26 so it’s not too hard to get.

May 2015 Brickpak - LEGO Parts

The parts pack and the minifigure were pretty meh. You get 4 Microfigs and 6 tiles (for the comic book stickers). The Darth Vader and Johnny Thunder microfig are my favourites, but it’s not something that sends my pulse racing.

The minifigure is decent-ish – his torso is from Terabyte that comes with 70165 Ultra Agents HQ, so it’s rare-ish in a sense.

Honestly, for $30, it just felt like a whole load of nothing. For that price, I felt that I would’ve been way happier buying parts I actually would use on Bricklink or even buying any $30 and under set.

I used to think that Brickpak would be more suited for younger kids who would enjoy the random surprises and LEGO trinkets, but after pondering over it for a while, I think you’re still better off buying actual LEGO or random LEGO merchandise/stationery from the likes of K-Mart and Big W. 30+ bucks a month (inclusive of shipping) adds up in the long run, and there’s only so many LEGO-themed caps, shirts or bags you can own.

As an Adult fan of LEGO (AFOL), there’s even less value in these mystery boxes. With so many great sets out on the market now, I just figured my LEGO budget would be best spent elsewhere.

9 responses to “Why I’m cancelling my Brickpak subscription”

  1. Sgoteam says:

    Wow. Thanks for this review. My friend just got his Brickpak and he’s pretty happy, so I was thinking of subscribing. But after reading your review, I’m now having second thoughts. Anyway, thanks for this review.

  2. Yeah, that doesn’t seem like a good investment.

  3. Phil says:

    I had the exact same experience. I held out for a couple of months to support it and in the hope it would improve. Box 2 was slightly better than 1 IMO, but after opening box 3 I immediately cancelled the subscription.

    • Jay says:

      Yeah, it’s quite unfortunate. I was looking forward to this being a fun little thing, but the price is just too high for the return.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

  4. I haven’t done Brickpak yet, as I’m still young, actually. But, yeah, after reading this? I would only go for, like, the ACTUAL FREAKIN’ LEGO!!! Jeez, it’s a BRICKpak, simply just include LEGO! Maybe that would be better, eh?

  5. marie says:

    I’ve signed up for one month – if I had seen this months lot I might not have. I’m like one or two items each month by the looks but yeah it is steep for that return.
    I used to get loot crate which with the dollar conversion at the time was a little cheaper and received a few more worthy items. Fingers crossed the tshirt is cool and actually fits.

    • Jay says:

      Ah hopefully the Hollywood version will contain stuff that you may like and that you enjoy the t-shirt! Let me know how you go with this month’s Brickpak

  6. Fiona says:

    I agree- I was underwhelmed. I will probably cancel soon – though next month is Hollywood and you get a tshirt, so that sounds good.

    • Jay says:

      Ah, I’m pretty picky when it comes to shirts and apparel, so even then I don’t think it’ll appeal to me. I hope they improve on the Hollywood one based on all the feedback they’ve been receiving!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Welcome!

    Hello and welcome to Jay's Brick Blog. In here, you'll find independent LEGO set reviews, commentary on LEGO trends & news, bargain hunting tips and an inside look into the life of an average LEGO fan. Find out more about me here
  • Subscribe for updates

    Enter your email address here to receive updates about new posts from Jay's Brick Blog - straight to your inbox!

    Join 5,418 other subscribers
  • Buy LEGO

  • Follow me on Instagram @jayong28

  • Follow on Facebook

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Branding and website design and build by Canvas Group